Diocesan Center

5037 West 83rd Street
Burbank, IL 60459-2748

The Diocese of the Midwest is administered from the Diocesan Center located in Burbank, Illinois.  The Diocesan Center houses the Bishop’s residence, the Chancery offices, and meeting space for Diocesan events.

Diocesan Hierarch

His Eminence, Most Reverend Paul 
Archbishop of Chicago & the Midwest

Consecrated: December 27, 2014
Elevation to Archbishop : May 29, 2020
Nameday: November 6


Diocesan Chancellor

Very Reverend Paul Jannakos

The Very Reverend Paul Jannakos, Rector of St. St. Luke Church in Palos Heights, Illinois, serves as Diocesan Chancellor.  Any and all correspondence to the Bishop, save confidential matters, should be copied to the Chancellor.

Diocesan Secretary

Very Reverend Herman Kincaid

The Diocesan Secretary is responsible for keeping an accurate record of all Diocesan Council meetings and all Assemblies; notify all parishes of all such meetings; and perform such other duties.

Diocesan Treasurer

Robert Koncel

Mr. Robert Koncel has served for many years as Treasurer of the Diocese of the Midwest. He is a long-time member of St. Joseph Church in Wheaton, Illinois.

Secretary to the Archbishop

Mr. Philip Sokolov

The Diocese of the Midwest chancery offices are staffed by Philip Sokolov, Secretary to the Archbishop. The secretary is responsible for all administrative concerns of the Diocese.

Director of Communications

Reverend Alexander Koranda

The Reverend Alexander Koranda oversees communication strategy and prepares all official news releases that appear on the Diocesan website.

Deanery Structure

The parishes of the Diocese of the Midwest are organized into administrative deaneries based on geographic location. The Diocese has six deaneries. Each deanery has a Dean elected by the assigned priests of the deanery and confirmed by the Bishop.

The work of the deanery is overseen and guided by the Dean who is a Rector from within the respective deanery. He coordinates and directs activities of the parishes and priests within the deanery, guiding the establishment of missions, and serving as the first appeal if or when disputes arise within the deanery.

In all matters, the Deans report directly to the Bishop, from whom they receive advice, instruction, and counsel, and for whom they act as an administrative liaisons to their own deanery communities.

Midwest Territory

Chicago Dean

Very Reverend Alexander Kuchta

Holy Resurrection Church
PO Box 421
Palatine, IL 60078

Cleveland Dean

Very Reverend Andrew Clements

St. Nicholas Church
9650 Johnnycake Ridge Rd
Mentor, OH 44060

Indianapolis Dean

Very Reverend Joel Weir

St. Stephen Church
210 Morgan St
Crawfordsville, IN 47933

Kansas City Dean

Very Reverend Timothy Sawchak

Holy Trinity Church
11901 Pflumm Rd
Overland Park, KS 66213

Michigan Dean

Very Reverend Dusan Koprivica

St. Demetrius Church
PO Box 125
Jackson, MI 49204

Minneapolis Dean

Very Reverend Paul Wesche

St. Herman Church
5355 38th Ave S
Minneapolis, MN 55417

Scroll to Top